Georgia CDL Practice Test

CDL Practice Test

Who Needs a Commercial Drivers License?

Georgia places age requirements on CDLs. You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a CDL, and if you are between 18 and 21 years old, you can drive commercially only within the state’s boundaries. When you turn 21 years old, you can have the “Georgia only” restriction lifted from your license. To begin the application process, study the nearly Commercial Driver’s Manual provided by the state, then complete an application and attach a photo. Before you become licensed, you will be required to pass both a written test that measures your knowledge and an on-road test that measures your driving skills. The most effective way to prepare for these is to participate in commercial driver training courses. Georgia provides a 28-page booklet outlining rules for obtaining your CDL. This booklet details: Medical requirements (see “Requirements for Medical Certification,” below)
Driver qualifications
Test requirements
Vehicle requirements
Skills required for the driving test Hazmat

As a truck driver, if you will be hauling hazardous materials, you will need to apply for a hazmat endorsement on your CDL, and you will need to have a background check and fingerprint check. School Bus Driver You will need a special endorsement on your license if you want to drive a school bus. Study the School Bus Manual provided online, You will be given written tests when applying: one testing your knowledge of hauling passengers, the other specifically for operating a school bus. If you pass these tests successfully, you will be given a driver’s test in a school bus the same size as the one you plan to drive. CDL Classes for Every State

You must be able to read and speak English well enough to read road signs, prepare reports, and communicate with the public and with law enforcement. The Act established three separate classes of commercial driver’s licenses. Every state issues licenses in these categories: Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GWVR) of 26,001 lbs or more, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 lbs.
Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs or more, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 lbs GVWR.
Class C: Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 passengers or more, including the driver, or is placarded for hazardous materials.
Many states make exceptions for farm vehicles, snow removal vehicles, fire and emergency vehicles, and some military vehicles.

error: Content is protected !!